Navy College Program > Topic Listing> Article: National and Regional Acceditation

National and Regional Acceditation

Article ID: 78074 Email Print
What is the difference between National and Regional accreditation?


Accreditation is awarded to ensure the institutions meet acceptable standards of quality. Specific accrediting agencies are recognized by the Department of Education. There are three main types of accreditation: Regional, National, and Specialized.

Regional accreditation, awarded from one of six regions in the US, focuses on academic theory for a full range of degrees while national accreditations generally focus on operational/technical skills. Specialized accreditation can be applicable to students with career paths that require board certification or licensure – for example nurses, teachers, or social workers.

Choosing the correct type of accreditation and school is important for transferability of credits for follow-on studies and to be competitive for future employment opportunities.

You can discuss accreditation at your next counseling appointment with a VEC Counselor. For a Navy website story on the topic, click here.

related articles

Article Details
Views: 829 Created on: Aug 03, 2016
Date updated: Oct 23, 2018
Posted in: Other ED

Poor Outstanding