Estimated tax is the amount of tax you expect to owe on your Oregon individual income tax return. Oregon estimated tax laws are not the same as federal estimated tax laws. Use Oregon instructions to determine if you need to make estimated tax payments for next year.
Do I need to make estimated payments?
In most cases, people who expect to owe $1,000 or more on their Oregon income tax return after credits and withholding must make estimated payments.
You may need to make estimated payments if:
- You are self-employed and do not have Oregon tax withheld from your income.
- You receive Oregon Lottery single ticket winnings of less than $5,000. (Note: Single ticket winnings of $5,000 or more are subject to Oregon withholding.)
- You receive income such as pensions, interest, or dividends; and in the case Oregon tax is not withheld and you expect to owe tax of $1,000 or more.
- You are a wage earner and expect to owe tax of $1,000 or more on your return. You may want to increase the amount your employer withholds from your Oregon wages. Download the publication Oregon Income Tax Withholding from our website or contact us to order it.
When do I pay?
Estimated tax due dates for taxes are April 15th; June 15th; September 15th; and January 15th. If paying with a check or money order, send your payment with Form 40-ESV, Oregon Estimated Income Tax Payment Voucher. Download the publication Estimated Income Tax from our website or contact us to order it.
If you are paying by credit card or electronic payment from your checking or savings account, see page 28.
For more information, see Form 40 Instructions