> Knowledge base> Article: Primo DVD only works correctly if I am logged in as the administrator. What specific rights are requ

Primo DVD only works correctly if I am logged in as the administrator. What specific rights are required?

Article ID: 44617 Email Print
Question
Primo DVD only works correctly if I am logged in as the administrator. What specific rights are required?

Answer

 

Primo DVD only works correctly if I am logged in as the administrator. What specific rights are required?

If you are using Windows XP Pro, restricted users can be given specific rights to run the Bravo with Primo DVD. Follow these steps (These instructions no not apply to Windows XP Home):

1. All installations first need to be installed by a user with administrative rights (including PrimoDVD, SureThing, and the Printer Driver).

2. After installing the Disc Publisher printer driver, the administrator must open the Printers Folder, right-click on ‘Disc Publisher II’ or 'Disc Publisher Pro' click Properties, and click on the Security* tab. Now click on Everyone in Group or user names. Check the allow box for both Manage Printers and for Manage Documents. Click OK.

3. The administrator must also change Permissions on two folders and three registry entries:
A. \Program Files\Common Files\PrimoDVD\
B. \Program Files\PrimoDVD\
C. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\Applications\stcd.exe
D. HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Applications\stcd.exe
E. HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Software\MicroVision

The administrator must browse to each of these folders and right-click on the folder, then click the Security tab - click on Users in Group or user names; then check the Allow box for both Modify and for Write. Click OK.

To change the registry key click Start - Run - type "regedt32." Browse to the above location - right click on stcd.exe - choose permissions. Choose the user or group and check full control.

*Please note: If you do not see a "Security" tab on the printer properties page, you will need to disable "Simple File Sharing" in Folder Options, view tab. To do so: Open Windows Explorer - Select Tools - Select Folder options - Select View - Go to the bottom of the list, deselect "Use Simple File Sharing (Recommended)" check box.


related articles

Article Details
Views: 2640 Created on: May 24, 2014
Date updated: Apr 14, 2016

Poor Outstanding