SIMPLE. FAST. ACCURATE
Support Center > Knowledge base> Article: Who must file a Wisconsin state tax return?

Who must file a Wisconsin state tax return?

Article ID: 59210 Email Print
Question
Who must file a Wisconsin state tax return?

Answer
Who Must File
Refer to the table to see if you are required to file a return in Wisconsin.
Filing status Age as of December 31 You must file if your gross income* (or total gross income of husband and wife) was:
Single

Under 65

65 or Older

$11,280 or more

$11,530 or more

Married-filing joint return

Both spouses under 65

One spouse 65 or older

Both spouses 65 or older

$20,980 or more

 

$21,230 or more

 

$21,480 or more

Married-filing separate return

Under 65

65 or older

$10,000 or more

$10,250 or more (applied to each spouse individually)

Head of household

Under 65

65 or older

$14,360 or more

$14,610 or more

Who Must File

Refer to the table to see if you are required to file a return.

 

Other Filing Requirements

You may have to file a return even if your income is less than the amounts shown on the table. You must file a return if:

You could be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s return and either of the following applies:

(1) Your gross income was more than $1,050 and it included at least $351 of unearned income, or

(2) Your gross income (total unearned income and earned income) was more than –

$10,580 if single,

$13,660 if head of household,

$19,580 if married filing jointly, or

$9,300 if married filing separately.

Unearned income includes taxable interest, dividends, capital gain distributions, and taxable scholarship and fellowship grants that were not reported to you on a W-2. Earned income includes wages, tips, and scholarship and fellowship grants that were reported to you on a W-2.

• You owe a penalty on an IRA, retirement plan, Coverdell education savings account (excess contribution), health savings account, or Archer medical savings account.

• You were a nonresident or part-year resident of Wisconsin for the tax year and your gross income was $2,000 or more. If you were married, you must file a return if the combined gross income of you and your spouse was $2,000 or more. (You must file Form 1NPR.)

 

related articles

Article Details
Views: 992 Created on: Jun 15, 2013
Date updated: Dec 27, 2018
Posted in: States, Wisconsin

Poor Outstanding